The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 11-04-2006, 03:59 PM

Could I eat a deer I hit with my car?

Okay, there's a thread in MPSIMS about deer-on-car accidents spiking at this time of year. Let's say I'm a poor college student who happens to smack into some poor doe just outside of town. The car still drives, but I want to make the best of a bad situation and strap Bambi to my roof, so I can make her into steaks.

Can I? If not, is it because of legal or health reasons? Assume I have no conscience.
Advertisements  
Old 11-04-2006, 04:02 PM
Charter Member

In California the state Fish and Game Department takes the deer.
Old 11-04-2006, 04:06 PM
Charter Member

Sure, I've eat deer that have been hit by a car. Many of the good parts are usually undamaged by the trauma. Sometimes it doesn't take much damage to kill a deer and you have to finish it off. If the have broken a hind leg, they are sometimes hard to string up, skin, and gut. You can always make hash out of the parts where the blood hasn't hemorraged into the meat too bad.

I have witnessed several car v. deer incidents and have first hand experience.
Old 11-04-2006, 04:08 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Simmons
In California the state Fish and Game Department takes the deer.
How do they know when someone runs into a deer?
Old 11-04-2006, 04:19 PM

I'm assuming the cops contact them. You're fortunate if you've had a collision with a deer that didn't involve significant damage to your vehicle.
Old 11-04-2006, 04:24 PM
Charter Member

I believe in New York it is legal to keep and consume a deer that you hit by a car. But only if the accident occurred during a legal hunting season and only if you had a hunting license. The theory seems to be you already had the legal right to kill a deer and it's your business if you decided to use a car rather than a gun to accomplish this.
Old 11-04-2006, 04:37 PM
Charter Member