Sailing trip homework

Background: Due to the odd hours of my job, complacency, etc., my wife and I have not spent a single weekend (or longer) away from our kiddos since the twins were born seven years ago. My wife turns 40 in about a month so over the past few months I have worked with two of my buddies and have helped plan a birthday sailing trip in the British Virgin Islands for the three couples. We leave in about three weeks.

My question to you, gentle folk, is how to prepare for the experience? I don’t necessarily mean what clothes to take, etc. (because I’ve glanced at a couple of threads about that), but what literature should I read before I go? How can I best maximize the experience? Get in the mood?

I have, in the last year or so, read the Aubrey/Maturin and Horatio Hornblower books. These past couple of months I have been reading some technical sailing materials (all of us have been sailing quite a few times so we’re not complete novices but I want to bone-up).

My list of things of things to do so far is re-read “Treasure Island.” Hehe. I’m going to re-watch “Dead Calm” and “The Island” (and that movie with Johnny Depp!) Any other thoughts? Should I buy that Pirates computer game? I’ve heard good things about it. :slight_smile:

Any good historical fiction set in the Caribbean? Good documentaries?

Any special places not to be missed?

Thanks so much for your help, SDMB’ers!

Gnomadic

I hate that no one answered this and it dropped, so I’m going to just pop in and say I hope you have a fantastic trip! It sounds like it will be a fantastic time indeed.

Moby Dick? A Perfect Storm? Rime of the Ancient Mariner?

Load your MP3 player with Jimmy Buffet and/or steel drum music?

Brian