The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 04-24-2007, 12:03 PM

Not so dumb DVD\VCR problem

My less than 1 year old DVD/VCR combo (a JVC model) is giving me problems. If I put in a tape, I can get sound, but no picture (the picture is snow). DVD playback is fine, however, and both the DVD and VCR playback are controlled via a single output (ie there is not a separate DVD out and VCR out on the back of the unit).

The unit supposedly has auto-tracking, so it shouldn't be a tracking problem....any other ideas?
Advertisements  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:50 PM
Charter Member

I assume you've tried it with more than one tape?

I am not an expert, and in fact have no actual experience with DVD/VCR combos, but if I were in your situation, I'd try putting in a VCR head-cleaning cassette, and see if that clears up the problem.

If that didn't work, I might flail around for other things to try, like connecting the unit to a different TV and seeing if the problem persisted, or opening up the unit to see if anything was obviously amiss (like a loose wire). But I'd resign myself to the idea that it might not be fixable, or at least not worth fixing.
Old 04-24-2007, 01:10 PM

How exactly is it connected?

On my combo DVD/VCR player, using the S-video cable, will only display video from the DVD. I need to use the RCA type cables for video to get the VCR. (I use RCA video cables to get video for both, and RCA cables for audio).

I had a very similar issue, as I didn't read the instructions... audio from VCR, but no video. DVD worked for both.
Old 04-24-2007, 01:21 PM

I have tried multiple tapes. None of them worked.
I have used the VCR under this setup for 4 or 5 months now with no problems until this point.