lawdopers: can blackacre vest in a zombie?

Okay - so, say Orson conveys Blackacre to Alice for life, then to Alice’s children who reach the age of 21. At the time of the conveyance, Alice has two children, Bob and Chris. Alice is bitten by a zombie, becomes zombified, and attacks her children. Bob is killed, Chris survives the attack (by decapitating Alice), but was wounded and later turns into a zombie himself.

Questions: Can Blackacre vest in Zombie Chris? If not, I assume it would revert to Orson - am I right? Also, do zombies raise any other property law issues I should be aware of?

(This is what happens when you tell Mr. Excellent he has a property final in thirteen hours.)

I think we need to know Chris and Bob’s ages at the time Bob is killed and Chris becomes the living dead, no?

Before I saw this thread, I never knew how much I cared about property law and the walking dead.

My answer (I graduated from law school yesterday, so my knowledge of property law is two years old) is to look at it in steps:

OK. At this point Alice is a non-zombie, living human. The conveyance vests in her and she owns in (IIRC) fee simple subject to condition subsequent.

At this point comes the crucial question: Is a zombie legally “alive”? I’m thinking the answer is yes; just as a patient with irreversible brain damage is legally alive, a zombie is still a living person, just horribly diseased.

That’s good thinking on Chris’s part. Decapitation is a sure way to kill zombies. I’m thinking at this point that, when Alice dies, Blackacre would go into trust for Chris on his 21st birthday (if possible), OR it would revert to Orson. But:

Most states (including Tennessee) have “slayer statutes,” saying that a killer cannot take from a victim if the killing was felonious and intentional. There’s a question here as to whether the killing was felonious; it sounds like self-defense to me. If it WAS felonious, then Chris can’t take and it will pass to Alice’s intestate successors.