Can I do anything with a Masters in International Relations/Politics?

So I just graduated college and have been doing a sales job for experience and to pay for the possibility of grad school. I am a political science grad and I really have a passion for international relations/current events.

What sort of things can I do (realistically) if I go to grad school for International Relations or International Politics or something like that?

I am preparing to take the Foreign Service Officer exam, and I received great advice regarding that route, but I want to know if anyone knows of a few other options? Should I just stick with sales and accept the fact that Poly-Sci is a waste hehe?

It’s hard because I have a job now, that pays reasonably well, and to quit to go to grad school to go after what interests you is scary when you are not sure if you will be able to find a related job after.

Would teaching, working for the CIA, an NGO, etc be realistic paths? What else is out there? Any suggestions on what else I should do, etc?

Thanks!

I have an MA in int. relations and work for an NGO. You should know that if you are serious about NGO work as a career, you really should be committed to living overseas. The real work happens in the field whereas NGO jobs based in the US are usually tracking budgets and making sure people like me get their timesheets in on time (I don’t). If you have questions about the work, I’d be happy to tell you more via email.

great my email seanthomps at gmail dot c0m

I would love to learn about what you do. Are there other things folks with your degree can realistically do as well? I am curious.

I just sent you an email, feel free to ask follow up questions. I know a lot of people get joint MAs in IR and law degrees or MBAs. There are also a lot of people in international business with such degrees. In my email, I link to a couple of employment websites that give you a sense of the market.