Non-venomous snakes: Do they have fangs?

A guy from work was telling me how they neighborhood gathered around and killed a black snake last night. He was afraid it would bite one of the neighborhood children.

I used to catch all kinds of non-venomous snakes growing up. Some times one would bite - which I don’t recall ever breaking skin.

He claims that even non-venomous snakes have fangs and it really really hurts when they bite.

I don’t buy it. But I’m no snake expert.

Do they have fangs? Can you provide a site that shows they don’t?

No, they don’t have fangs, but the teeth are backward-curving.
Anyone who kills a blacksnake is an idiot.

Fangs, as in elongated front teeth designed to transfer venom ( or just particularly elongated front teeth )? No.

Sharp teeth that can pierce skin? Of course. What, did you think they hold onto their prey with their gums? :smiley:

Seriously though I’ve been bitten by dozens of snakes, including one shot to the eyeball that caused me to bleed like a stuck pig. My buddy got whapped in the chin by a large wild Boa and said it was like getting hit in the face with a bunch of roofing nails. I’ve even had baby king snakes pentrate the skin.

And of course some traditionally “non-venomous” snakes actually ARE mildly venomous and have a crude transfer system consisting of enlarged, often grooved rear teeth. The Lyre snake of the American Southwest for example.

edited to add: But I think your buddies justification is nonsense. Most non-venomous snake bites are nothing at all significant. Pinpricks, basically. Only a very large snake like the one that hit my friend would really hurt and even then it wouldn’t do significant damage.

Black snakes (racers or black rat snakes) in your area do not have fangs. They have sharp, back-curved teeth, as beowulff said. Getting bitten by a black snake is mildly painful and might scare a child, but that doesn’t warrant a death sentence.