Ask the guy that had LASIK 24 hours ago.

Some basics.

47 years old.

I’ve been wearing corrective lenses for 40 years.

Had 20-400 vision and was to the point of needing reading glasses too.

I’ll still need reading glasses, but won’t have to mess with contacts too.

Just got back from my first post-op check up and I am at about 20-30. There is a good likelihood that my vision will improve over the next few hours or up to a week. Having just had surgery on my eyes, I see that as pretty promising.

I had to have ‘bandage’ contacts put in because I jumped a little bit during the procedure. It’s not uncommon. The contacts help ensure that the flap created heals properly. Those contacts have since been removed, and my vision is really doing great.

After the surgery, I had a little discomfort. About like wearing old, or dirty contacts. That only lasted a few hours. Today, 24hours later, My eyes feel great.

If anyone is interested I’d be glad to answer questions. I am supposed to take it a little easy today, but reading and such is OK. I could also give good info on the whole procedure as it is fresh, and follow ups on the results.

How many fingers am I holding up?

Has your close-up vision become worse?

I was just thinking about starting a thread to ask questions about Lasik.

It is nice to hear from someone in the same age range as I am (40s). My So had it done years ago and loves it, but his big complaint is that he had to get reading glasses after - but I think he was just at the point of needing them despite having the Lasik done.

How much $$?

How’s your night vision?

How many total appointments (including follow up) are needed?

Did it smell?

I thought of another q - how do you find a good Lasik surgeon?

The price?

Any help with cost from insurance?

What do you think of Dells tech support?

Did they give you the whole shpiel about " don’t move or else! "