Political candidates speaking at churches--wrong?

I’m not sure if this would belong under General Questions or what.

It seems traditional for political candidates to speak at African-American churches.

Doesn’t this violate the church’s tax-exempt status? Don’t these churches worry about losing that? I am a finance manager of a church, and we NEVER endorse a candidate or a position. We would never have a political figure speak during the church service, or even in the building at another time. People are encouraged to vote their conscience. Occasionally we support a cause, such as mosquito nets for Africa or something like that.

I’ve always wondered how these churches get away with it and why no one complains.

I’ve made our church sound wishy-washy. The thing is, we expect that people can think for themselves so do not tell them what to think.

Well, at the least the church should be fair, in allowing all the candidates to speak. More of a Candidate Fair than just a speech by one candidate.

I was involved in a case where the church leaders were planning to allow only 1 candidate to speak at the church – even though the other candidate was an active member of the church!

They eventually backed down when a letter sent from our lawyer ‘accidentally’ included a draft copy of a complaint to the IRS, challenging their tax-exempt status. They never mentioned seeing that, but suddenly were willing to negotiate. Of course, they gave our candidate a lousy time, and tried various other nasty ways to discourage people from attending, but we expected that. (Very Christian of them!)