How long did it take to double your salary? Triple?

I graduated college in late '89 and my first job paid $36K/year. It took about 11 years for me to double that initial salary with a dot-com job in roughly 2000.

Here I am now at roughly the top of my earning curve for my job title. I’m pretty much stuck with cost-of-living raises from here on out (a joke of a term, it’s not keeping up at all). If I were to get last year’s raise percentage (4%) and extrapolate for the next couple years, I’ll have tripled my fresh-out-of-college starting salary right around the year 2012, 12 years from my double mark.

In simple dollars, since adjusting for inflation is a real PITA, how long did it take to double your first salary? Have you tripled or quadrupled?

If we’re limiting this to increases after receiving an undergrad degree, I’m at about 1.4 times what I made when I got out of college. However, my W2s for this year compared to my last year of college show an increase of eight fold.

<snert> Sorry, you just made me LOL at work. I mean, unless you count that I’ve tripled what I made as a GA making minimum wage.

It took me about four years to double the salary I made at my first job right out of college, and two of those years I was out of the workforce. Yeah, pretty low paying job, but it set me on my current career path. Then it took me about another three years to double it again. I’ll probably double that within the next couple of years.

Heheh, not that funny. After 9 years and promotion to the big cheese, I make 1/3 more than my original salary of not much.

But, of course, you live in Denver and I live in Georgia. A $65,000 house with 2.5 acres is adequate compensation for a wee salary.

I’m at about 2.7 times the salary I started at when I began my insurance career 12 years ago.

About 9 years to double, and about 11 to triple. All at the same company.