My son wants a motorcycle (cue ominous music)

His argument: It will be cheaper on gas.
My rebuttal: Yeah, people lying in the ICU with multiple fractures rarely need to buy gas.

His argument: It will save me a lot of money.
My rebuttal: Yes. Death is very economical.

His argument: I’m a good driver.
My rebuttal: I know you are. I’m worried about all the other DWHUA* dipshits on the road who will try to kill you.

His argument: This motorcycle (a 2006 Honda something-or-other) is top-rated for safety!
My rebuttal: But what happens when your ass is no longer attached to the Honda, but is skidding across the blacktop at 60mph? What’s the safety rating on your ass?

His final plea: Will you at least think about it?
My concession: I will think about it.

So here I am thinking about it. I’ve ridden one or two motorcycles in my time, and hated it. There’s no buffer, no wall, between you and all the blunt instruments whizzing by. Everything he said makes perfect sense (I hate it when he does that); he works a full-time crap job and needs cheap transportation, but he’s only 17 and for some visceral reason the thought of him on a motorcycle horrifies me much more than the thought of him driving a car did (and that was horrifying enough).

And I’m perfectly aware that I have my own baggage about the subject I need to lay aside - my stepfather (who’s idea I’m sure this is :rolleyes: ) thinks he’s a biker and it has long been my instinct to automatically detest anything he likes (motorcycles, car races, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and blues music, to name a few) so I’m sitting here trying to figure out how much of this is genuine parental concern and how much is knee-jerk revulsion at my son acting like someone I loathe.

So…Teenagers on two wheels? Opinions?

[sub]* Driving With Head Up Ass[/sub]