Ask the Freelancer

As requested in this thread.

As I’ve mentioned ad nauseam on these boards, I’m a freelance copyeditor. I graduated from college in 1990 with a degree in graphic art and started working as a litho stripper for a printing company. Liked the work, hated the job. A friend for whom I’d done typing and light editing when we were both college students mentioned that she thought there might be a market for that sort of thing to be done at home. (At the time I had never heard the term “copyediting” as it’s used in publishing, and I knew precious little about freelancing or being self-employed.) I started doing my research and sending out resumes in the fall of 1994, got my first client in March 1995, quit my job in October 1995, and quit the “fun” part-time filler jobs I’d taken in the meantime to go 100% freelance in May 1996.

My husband was supportive, but perhaps a bit dubious. That changed in 2001 when he lost his job and I became the breadwinner. I ramped up my workload, snagged some new clients, and got busy. I’m still busy, and as Mr. S is still not 100% employed (but getting there), it’s still on me to pay most of the bills. I can’t recall the last time I had nothing on my desk; I’m almost constantly swamped. Need to work on just saying no. (And raising rates, but we can discuss that later . . .)

Any and all other freelancers are welcome to chime in; I certainly don’t consider myself an expert by any means, and as I said above, I’m damned busy!

Aaaaand . . . we’re off!

Very interesting. Just stopped over here from the other thread.

I’m thinking that something in editing might be what I want to do after I retire (if all goes as planned, I’ll be somewhere between 55 and 58). I’ve also thought about going back to doing freelance translation (haven’t done that in about 20 years). So I’m sure I’ll have lots of questions.

How did you decide what to charge and when to raise rates? Are there any resources you’d recommend for self-employed people?