Colonoscopies & Cosmetics

Hi, all!

Having reached the magical age of 50, I am scheduled for my first ever colonoscopy. The information/prep package I was given says I should not wear make-up or nail polish. I mentioned this to a friend of mine, and asked if he knew why nail polish wasn’t allowed. He didn’t, and said he would ask his neighbor, Dee, who works for a gastroentologist (this is what I actually expected from him). Well, the word back from Dee is that she doesn’t know why, some doctors permit it, some don’t, but none (she knows) permit gel nails.

This information caused me to go :eek: . I’ve been wearing gel nails for around twelve years now. Well, the info I have does not address gel nails, so I am not going to worry about it. But it does bring me back to the no nail polish question. Does anyone know why nail polish is discouraged? Aside from just wanting to know out of curiosity, here’s my problem: I am scheduled to get my nails done two days before my procedure (my nail appointment is next Wednesday, my colonoscopy is next Friday). Foregoing nail polish is not a problem; I actually haven’t worn polish on my finger nails in over a year. What I have worn is colored gel. So, can/should I get my nails done with bright pink gel as planned? Would a french maincure be a better choice (white gel on the tips, sheer pink gel on the rest of the nail)? Or should I just go with the basic clear gel, and polish my nails after the procedure is done? I suppose this last is the most sensible choice, but I really, really would like to know the whys and wherefores of the whole thing. Can anyone help?

Is there some reason you can’t just postpone your manicure until after the colonoscopy? I’m having trouble seeing why a minor cosmetic procedure is so important that it can’t be put off until after the important medical procedure that prohibits it.