The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:18 PM
VineTendon VineTendon is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
this domain is blocked

There's a website that I want to visit and recently when I've attempted to open the URL I get a message of "This domain has been blocked" on a blank page. I'm using Win2k on an elderly machine, I don't have the domain blocked in my hosts file and I've flushed my DNS several times to no avail and when I ping the domain it works! Plus I'm not using an active antivirus (AVG Free 8 point whatever is installed) nor am I using a firewall program.

Being marginally smarter than the average bear, I used the IP address instead of the domain name and I can visit this website.

Funny thing, when I open the website with Firefox under FreeBSD using the same ISP the name gets resolved and the site opens normally without me having to resort to an unfriendly IP address.

What is going on here? Are there any fixes so I can visit it under Win2k using the domain name rather than the IP?
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:27 PM
JSexton JSexton is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Snowy Oregon
Posts: 3,730
What browser and version? Firefox 3 warns you away from known virus-infected sites. IE 7 does as well, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:28 PM
ZipperJJ ZipperJJ is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 16,641
Do you have the Google Toolbar? That might also be doing the blocking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:39 PM
VineTendon VineTendon is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
I'm using Firefox 2.0 and I do not have any Google toolbars.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:41 PM
VineTendon VineTendon is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Firefox 2.0 w/ Win2k and BSD.
Apparently I am unable to delete my own post nor am I capable of editing my post. No big deal but just sayin' since I don't want to be yelled at for flooding or whatever you guys might call it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:28 PM
Derleth Derleth is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Can you tell us what website is blocked?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:43 PM
Jragon Jragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miskatonic University
Posts: 7,156
Find your localhost file (you should be able to find the location quite easily on google if you don't know where), open it with notepad and see if anything is muddying it up.

The default settings should be
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1       localhost
(or it may be blank).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:45 PM
VineTendon VineTendon is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
420chan.net gave me the domain blocked message. IP address works tho. Just a bit of a mystery.

Hosts file is not an issue. 420chan.net is not mentioned at all in the host's file and 127.0.0.1 is localhost
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:47 PM
JSexton JSexton is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Snowy Oregon
Posts: 3,730
Huh. I get the same thing. It's not just you.

edit: Windows Vista, Firefox 3, with Google toolbar.

Viewing the source gets me just "This domain has been blocked." No HTML tags or anything.

Last edited by JSexton; 08-10-2008 at 11:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2008, 11:50 PM
elmwood elmwood is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,072
Odd. I get the same message with the domain. Even through a proxy, same message.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2008, 12:12 AM
Jragon Jragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miskatonic University
Posts: 7,156
Hell, search for the DNS on Google, the spiders say it's blocked as well. I'd say it's some sort of weird issue on their end.

Personally firefox tells me its IP is invalid though (it is responding to ping however).

are you using 216.8.179.23? Because that's not getting me any results.

Edit: Are you sure you're not talking about 420chan.org? Because that site is actually responding. I tried it because 4chan is similarly a .org website.

Last edited by Jragon; 08-11-2008 at 12:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2008, 03:24 AM
si_blakely si_blakely is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Sounds like a DNS issue - it seems to me (without investigation, since I am at work) that the DNS servers are redirecting the connection to give the response that you are seeing.

This could be via a malicious DNS Poisoning attack, or it could be because the actual site is hosting some malware, and someone with control of the DNS (maybe your ISP or their DNS provider, or the root DNS provider) has decided that everyone is better off not going there, and has added the redirection.

If it is a DNS Poisoning attack, it should get sorted eventually. If it is a DNS provider image, the webserver admin will have to sort out the problem and get the DNS Providers to remove the redirection.

Si

Last edited by si_blakely; 08-11-2008 at 03:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:47 AM
elmwood elmwood is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,072
Looking through archive.org, here's what I get ...

Running as a working chan through last May. In June, this appears:
Quote:
420chan.net
06/06/2006 - Since no one seems to get the idea that certain types of images (ie - cp) are not allowed on this forum, I have elected to take it down. It is a waste of my bandwidth, my time, and my free and legal status. So do yourselves a favor, and stop wasting time. The forum will reopen on Friday, 06/09/2006, and if it appears once more, the forum will be disposed of.
-- 420chan.net Admin
In July:

Quote:
420chan.net - We are looking for moderators
That's right, you heard right. We are not dead yet, but we do need moderators. This forum was growing at such a rapid rate, it was impossible for two loned and impoverished jackasses to take care of all things on the site. If you feel as though you have the amazing ability to weed out (yes, I said it) disallowed material, then this is the job for you! To inquire as to how you can become a moderator, please send an email to admin {[at}] 420chan.net. Good luck, and thank you for your support.
-- 420chan.net Admin
In September it's finally back online. Sometime between early October and early December, though ...

Quote:
Domain Temporarily Suspended

This domain has been suspended for an undetermined period of time. Please check back with this domain at a later time.
The chan was back online again for Christmas. However, it went offline again before April 2008. The last archive, in May, had the "Domain Temporarily Suspended" message.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:53 AM
VineTendon VineTendon is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
well weird, reckon i should've paid more attention to the TLD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright © 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.