Ask the guy who used to work at a major daily newspaper

So until this last Wednesday, I worked for The Kansas City Star as a news page designer. I was mostly responsible for the cover of the Local section, but I also filled in on Business and A1 occasionally, as well as our youth tab, Ink. I got laid off in the second round of layoffs, only two months after the first round. I hadn’t started this thread earlier because I didn’t want to do anything that might jeopardize my job, but that’s obviously not a concern anymore, now is it?

So ask away with whatever questions you might have for a guy who spent two years in the newsroom of a major American metro newspaper.

(And if you have any ideas with what I should do with the rest of my life, send a PM…)

How much effort do the people who write the editorials actually put into their work? Do they try to write controversial pieces just to encourage a lot of reader outrage?

I am also a page designer at a midsized daily in the South. (I am working on the local section right now) Sorry to hear about the job cut. This paper has gotten rid of a lot of people this year. There is a lot of fear in this newsroom.

Did you know it was coming or did you feel pretty safe and it was a major shock?

No questions, just a wish for good luck with your job search!

I am curious about the change in the way reporters cover the news, since the days when my mom was a reporter.

She (and her colleagues) were very careful to quote people correctly in their articles. They didn’t want the folks to ‘clam up’ and stop giving the reporters interviews. She would even call people and read the pertinent portions of her article back to them. She was also a spelling and grammar purist.