Personal Statement Tips for Grad School

I think I’ve previously mentioned it on the dope, but I am finishing my master’s in American history and starting the application process for PhD programs. I am trying to write my personal statement. In summary I plan to write something along the lines of the following. Its obviously a very rough draft.

-I come from a humble background and my attempts in school were always distracted by my need to work a full time job. I spent the first 23 years of my life never really commiting to anything, just trying to get by. It was only after I finished my bachelor’s degree (with a meager 2.5 GPA) and got a good corporate job that I realized what I wanted to do with my life.

I have spent the last three years of my life fully commited to the study of history. For the first time I have not allowed my need to make a living to distract me from my academic goals.It hasn’t always been easy. I didn’t initially appreciate the value or the difficulty of language skills. I flunked my first Spanish course, but I remained commited. I retrook the course and made an A. While languages are still I weakness I did complete my Spanish courses with an overall 3.5 GPA.

I have completed my master’s with a 3.7 GPA. I have not been content to simply fuftill the requirements. I have had work accepted for publication and presented my scholarship at several scholarly conferences. I have done all of this while working a full time corporate job.

I am now ready to take the next step. I am in search of a community of scholars that will support me with a funding package that will allow me to leave corporate America and devote all of my time to the study of history. I did well during my master’s while working full time outside the profession. I will do even better once I can devote all of my time to history.-

Any thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated.

I’m applying for graduate school right now. Fortunately, essays have always been my strong suit.