The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Cafe Society

Old 11-28-2008, 01:31 AM

Do artists often hate their own work?

I've been pondering (always dangerous). I'm an extremely amateur singer, so much so that I really shouldn't even use the word amateur, perhaps noobish is more appropriate. Before I ramble on any further, my point is that I find listening to the sound of my own voice highly distressing. Even when I have the luck to record something halfway decent that other people can listen to without setting their ears on fire, I find that when I listen to it I often hate it. Even if I can tell that it's a decent sound, I still hate it. Hate hate hate it. When I'm in the act of singing, I actually like the sound of my voice, but play it back on recording and I can actually feel something akin to physical pain. This doesn't always happen, but it happens often enough to make me ponder. As there is no time, let me sum up.

Do other artists in singing or other genres display such an effect? Are there other singers who hate listening to their own songs, directors who wont watch their own movies, artists who hate seeing their own paintings, so on and so forth?

Last edited by Autolycus; 11-28-2008 at 01:33 AM.. Reason: I really need to edit before posting...
Advertisements  
Old 11-28-2008, 03:48 AM

I haven't been on stage in...wow...16 years now. But when I was still doing that kind of thing, I didn't particularly like seeing myself act. Not sure I can articulate exactly why...but it was an uncomfotable experience.
Old 11-28-2008, 05:49 AM

'but all my words come back to
in shades of mediocrity
like emptyness in harmony'

Paul Simon
Old 11-28-2008, 06:17 AM

I'm a visual artist, and yeah, sometimes in spite of careful planning something doesn't turn out as expected. If it's bad enough I destroy it. But these are rare exceptions. Mostly I'm very pleased with my work.
Old 11-28-2008, 06:37 AM