Microwave running with the door open?

I work in a restaurant kitchen, and we have a cheap, $7 microwave that we use for warming up pastries, as well as “oops” situations (“Chef Mike” is faster then any line cook). Several of my coworkers claim that this POS microwave will continue to “cook” with the door open, if the timer hasn’t stopped yet. My Boss claims he can feel his legs tingling (its placed on a low shelf). I called bullshit, and performed a scientific experiment.

I filled a plastic container with tap water, measured the temperature (61˚F) and divided it equally into two identical plastic containers. I placed one on a shelf, a couple meters away from the microwave, and the other inside the microwave. I set the timer, but left the door partially open. After 4 minutes, I measured the temperatures of the water, both 62˚F. From this, I concluded that the microwave was NOT cooking while the door was open.

My coworkers scoffed at my results.

So, what do you dopers think? Was my experiment flawed, or are my coworkers paranoid?

What would be the risks involved with such a malfunctioning microwave?

Highly unlikely the oven was running with the door open. There are not one, but three, independent interlock switches on the door latches which would require multiple, atypical failures in order to allow such a condition. Two of the interlocks prevent the primary of the HV transformer from energizing if the door isn’t closed AND latched. The third interlock is a fail-safe which will blow the primary fuse if the oven is started while the door is open. However, the light, fan and/or turntable may operate, giving the impression that the oven is running, when it really isn’t.

Run the test this way:

[ol]
[li]Fill three cups of water from the tap. [/li][li]Measure their temperature and record it.[/li][li]Put Cup A into the microwave, close the door, and set the timer for five minutes.[/li][/ol]
When the time is up, measure the water temperature from Cup A and record it.