Grading on a curve

In your opinion, what constitutes “grading on a curve”?

For example, if a teacher applies a scale where 90-100%=A, 80-89%=B, 70-79%=C, 60-69%=D, and 59 and below=F - did the teacher apply a curve?

What if the teacher above finds his class did poorly, so he drops the standard for each grade 10 points such that 80-100%=A, 70-79=B, etc. - have they now curved the results?

How about, instead of lowering the scale 10 points, the teacher adds 10 points to each students’ score?

Or does a curve require that a teacher give As to the highest 10%, Bs to the next 20%, and so on?

Just curious as to folks’ opinions. I was speaking with a teacher who said they had applied a curve in the second example above - where they adjusted the 90-80-70-60% scale down 10 points. I said that wasn’t what I considered applying a curve. But I have no knowledge of how that term is approrpaietly used in educational circles.

No. And I won’t hear anything from any of you heretics who think there are grading scales where 90% isn’t an A. The 90-100 = A et cetera scale was written on the back of the Ten Commandments. Written under it is “Thou shalt never curve grades down”.

Yes.

I’ve never heard of a teacher doing that.

Something like this is usually what is intended when they drop the cutoff for an A. The teacher has an idea of roughly how many people in the class should be getting each grade, and adjusts the grade cutoffs to get approximately that result.