How do you do your duty for people whose behavior you despise?

As a doctor, my duty binds me to work for the benefit of my patients’ legitimate medical needs. As a prison physician, that means I am frequently obliged to be an advocate for unrepentant killers, rapists, sadistic psychopaths, rip-off artists, etc.

Recently, I was reminded yet again of this while setting up a long and complex (and expensive) treatment plan for a patient with a chronic disease who was busy blaming his victim for his incarceration. The details are moderately heinous, but suffice it to say, his victim is no longer alive.

This caused a small pause in the office visit, and I did quickly proceed to shut the guy’s chitchat down by telling him we were focusing on his medical problems today. Period. But I was surprised at how angry I felt. And afterwards, as I reviewed his chart I noted that his unwillingness to accept responsibility has been a feature of his for a number of years. So this was not just a bad day for him, but a pattern of continuing behavior.

Afterwards, I had to make a conscious effort to let go of my emotions and proceed with planning his treatment (which frankly is better than many non-incarcerated folks can get these days).

I’ve got my own methods for letting go of this stuff so I can do my duty. It mainly involves mental exercises that allow me to get over not only recreational outrage, but even the most righteous anger (which usually leads me astray just as effectively as unrighteous anger).

Generally recognizing that they are already in prison as punishment & not to be punished is a good place for me to start. That thought is generally followed by some reflection on how whenever I fail to act correctly it seems to bring me as much grief as it inflicts on others. At need I’ll bend the ear of select friends who are in or have been in similar situations with their work. And if I’m still unsettled by the matter, I’ll do physical exercise more vigorously than usual.