The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:05 PM
Qadgop the Mercotan Qadgop the Mercotan is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Slithering on the hull
Posts: 22,449
Cell phone constantly busy?

Quick question: I'm trying to get hold of a guy, he's only got a cell phone. Calling that number gives only a busy signal. No voice mail, etc. I'm not used to getting busy signals on cell phones.

Trying to figure out what that might mean.........
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:17 PM
Sunspace Sunspace is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Near the GT eeehhhh...
Posts: 26,673
I have a friend with a prepaid mobile phone... when his credit is used up, the system won;t let me call him. On his phone, you get a message along the lines of "We can't connect your call because the subscriber's account is not active." IST recall that on older postpaid systems, a similar situation would just not connect. Any idea whether your contact is using a really old phone and account?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:34 PM
msmith537 msmith537 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
he's not that into you?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2009, 01:48 PM
Qadgop the Mercotan Qadgop the Mercotan is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Slithering on the hull
Posts: 22,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by msmith537 View Post
he's not that into you?
Then he's not that into his paycheck either........

I don't know what type of cell phone he has.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2009, 02:46 PM
PatriotGrrrl PatriotGrrrl is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
It might mean that he has his cell phone set to forward all calls to a landline number which doesn't have voicemail.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:27 PM
Shark Sandwich Shark Sandwich is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Is it a busy signal, or a fast-busy signal?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:31 PM
Qadgop the Mercotan Qadgop the Mercotan is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Slithering on the hull
Posts: 22,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark Sandwich View Post
Is it a busy signal, or a fast-busy signal?
Not sure of the difference, offhand. It might be a bit faster than the busy signals I remember for land lines.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:42 PM
Shark Sandwich Shark Sandwich is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Not sure how to explain this, but a busy signal that beeps (or buzzes or whatever) about every second or so usually means the party is on the other line. If it's a fast-busy, it'll beep about every half-second or so, it's reorder tone, and usually means the number isn't in service. You usually get a recording for this, but sometimes you don't. It can also mean network congestion.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-31-2009, 03:47 PM
Polycarp Polycarp is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: A better place to be
Posts: 26,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark Sandwich View Post
Not sure how to explain this, but a busy signal that beeps (or buzzes or whatever) about every second or so usually means the party is on the other line. If it's a fast-busy, it'll beep about every half-second or so, it's reorder tone, and usually means the number isn't in service. You usually get a recording for this, but sometimes you don't. It can also mean network congestion.
In the exchanges I've lived in, in two states, fast busy nearly always means that the exchange is overloaded at one end of the call or the other and cannot connect you through. (It's also what we got when we accidentally failed to make a very late phone payment and were disconnected -- you could still dial 911 but nothing else.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2009, 04:19 PM
IAmNotSpartacus IAmNotSpartacus is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qadgop the Mercotan View Post
Not sure of the difference, offhand. It might be a bit faster than the busy signals I remember for land lines.
I don't suppose you're calling from a VoIP line...?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.