Women w/ short hair, has it negatively impacted your life?

Particularly younger women under 35, where it is not in the norm to have short hair.

I got a haircut (pixie style) around a few months ago, and my dad is still shitting bricks about it.

Last night he told me that I have pretty much ruined my life. He said that I am a lot less attractive and will have serious trouble getting hired anywhere or finding any man who wants to date me.

I’ve always known there was a slight prejudice agaisnt women with short hair (and men with long hair), and I am willing to take responsibility for it. I’m loving my new do, but I don’t think things are as grave as my father percieves them.

This was my first haircut in my life, and I am in my mid-twenties, so I am new to this world.

Women with short hair, how is life treating you? How are things different since you cut your hair?

Your dad needs to get a hobby. I have never heard anything so ridiculous in my life. I have had hair both short and long, and if it looks cute, I know very few people who would care what the length is. It’s not how long it is, it’s how it makes you FEEL—because there are plenty of women out there who have short hair that get plenty of action. I hope you won’t take his commentary seriously enough to let him influence you. The length of your hair has nothing do with how sexy or attractive you are.

I am sorry that I’m not able to directly answer your question, but it makes me sad to think that there’s even a possibility that this might be true. I know some women who look absolutely fantastic with short haircuts, and the idea that they might be taken less seriously by the business word or potential suitors is just silly.

Diamonds02, I’m sure your hair looks fantastic, and I wish you tons of success!

Your dad is nuts. I bet he is the type who is very “traditionally” minded, women should look a certain way and do certain jobs, etc. He should grow the hell up.