Buy computer, need advice

A friends computer died. She can not afford a new one and I want to help. I am not rich either so I am looking for something cheap. Dell seems to make something in the right price range - $400 -$600ish. Specifically the Inspiron series (I am a Mac person, she is a PC). Are these fairly good computers? Should I order them from the Dell site?

Thanks

If your friend has a working monitor, she shouldn’t need to buy a new monitor. Might I suggest refurbished Dell computers, starting at under $200? They have varying degrees of components and all of them have enough “oomph” to get you through checking email and going online.

I’ve helped set these machine up for several friends and family members. I’m using one right now. It’s my main work computer - and I work in the computer industry - and I think the whole thing cost me around $400.

Definitely go for refurbished computers for a good deal and that is probably good advice for anyone. It usually just means that someone opened up the box and sent it back because they didn’t want it anymore. Dell is a good, no hassle, way of getting a good computer. The only downside is that certain parts are non-standard and hard to upgrade. They have some really cheap desktop computers but just go for the best that your friend can afford so that doesn’t become obsolete so quickly.

I should add that you can get some mighty fine Dell refurbished computers in the $400 - $600 dollar range. I work in IT and I got mine for $500 and it can handle just about anything. If you want to go budget, you can drop to the bottom of your range or even lower. If your friend doesn’t play cutting edge games or use netflix on demand, it may not make that much of a difference. Word processing and using the web doesn’t take that much computing power.