Are Mace and Nutmeg Interchangeable?

I’m making a Biryani sauce that calls for ground mace. I’ve never used it before, so I had to go buy some. It was fairly expensive—about $6 for a small 0.9 ounce jar. On the side of the jar it says “1/4 teaspoon mace = 1 teaspoon nutmeg.” Do they really both impart the same flavor to cooked dishes? I realize that both spices are derived from the same plant, but it stands to reason they must have distinct flavor profiles, otherwise there wouldn’t be any reason for paying a premium price for mace as opposed to nutmeg. What’s the straight dope on this?

There’s just less mace on a plant then nutmeg. Mace is a flimsy skin around a solid (nutmeg) kernel. Cookbooks say that the taste of mace is “more refined” then nutmeg. But I use nutmeg when the recipe calls for mace. It makes more difference, IMHO, to use freshly ground nutmeg instead of the dried out ready ground stuff. So I keep my nutmeg nuts in a little jar with salt (to prevent humidity) and scrape the nuts with a knife when I need fresh nutmeg. The nuts will keep for two years this way.

I think not. Ever try to bash someone’s head in with a kernel of nutmeg?