Does hair really stop growing at a certain length?

Over the years I’ve heard from different sources that the hair on an individual’s head will stop growing at a certain length, which varies from person to person. Is this true, or a myth? I wondering mainly because I’ve been growing out my hair for about 7 years now, but I seem to have trouble getting it past mid-back length.

I was told that it’s not that each strand of hair grows to a certain length, but that they have an average lifetime before falling out. So once your hair reaches a certain length, it will reach an equilibrium between older ones falling out and newer ones attaining the same rough length before falling out. If that makes sense…

I don’t know about a limit on length, but there is a limit on numbers of hairs. A fellow’s hair is on top of his head at one end, and out his nose, ears and back at the other end. In the middle, it simply fills up his brain case. As he gets older and starts shrinking (height, penis size, etc.), his brain case gets smaller, and can no longer contain as many hairs as it used to, which kills off some of the hairs and causes the remaining ones to be extruded downward. That’s why older fellows go partially or entirely bald on their heads while getting rather furry elsewhere.

The limit is in the lifetime of the hair. How long it gets in that time is a secondary effect of the time limit. When the lifetime is up, the hair falls out and soon a new one will start to grow. The process repeats until the follicle becomes permanently inactive.

Look at it this way: think about arm hair or (if you don’t shave) leg hair. No one is walking around with three-foot-long arm hair. It’s a uniform length, right? That uniform length varies from person to person (Robin Williams, for example, has some loooong-ass arm hair) but it’s pretty uniform on that person.