Career change: second bachelors or masters?

I have a bachelors in economics, but now want to pursue a career in engineering. Do I get a second bachelors or do people usually go into a masters program when they say they’re “going back to school”?

How would a career change work if, say, you had an English degree and wanted to go into computer science? Getting a masters in computer science in that case would be excessive and unrealistic since you would have to pretty much take an entire undergraduate program again. I assume then you would just get another bachelors?

I personally don’t know many people with multiple bachelors so I don’t know how common this is. I hope those of you who have changed careers would post your experiences and some advice for me.

It really depends if there is a typical path from the undergraduate degree to the graduate degree. For example, it is quite common (and even encouraged) for people without business undergraduate degrees to enter MBA programs. Other fields are more linear. For example, to get a graduate degree in engineering you would typically require an undergraduate degree in the same engineering specialization. One bright spot – many engineers have very successful and lucrative careers with just an undergraduate degree.

If your goal is to advance in your current field, then “going back to school” would usually mean pursuing a more advanced degree in the same area as your undergraduate degree. If your goal is a career change, then getting another undergraduate degree is more common.

Also, you are correct regarding the English to Computer Science transition. It is unlikely any of the English degree coursework would transfer to Computer Science degree (other than perhaps some arts electives), so you would be back to square one.