Are we heading for an education bubble?

Are the rising costs of college tuitions together with the stagnation of wages leading us to a position where we’ll see massive defaults on student loans?

Inspired by this diary on the DailyKOS
http://www.dailykos.com/story/2009/11/18/800460/-The-Education-Bubble

Generally the only way to default on your student loans (government loans, at least) are to die or get horrifically injured. So let’s hope we don’t see a lot of defaulting.

Ok, so maybe not defaulting but a general inability to pay them back. On a long enough timeline people will die, so if you can’t default you continue to accrue interest right?

But generally what does it mean that tuition price increases are occurring while wages are stagnating?

I wish.

I am not a financial expert, but I believe that mswas’s usage of the word ‘default’ is more accurate than yours. Perhaps we could say that government student loan debts are not able to be “discharged” through normal bankruptcy; only death, disability, etc.

I think it means any number of things:
[ul]
[li]Students aren’t aware of the disparity between tuition inflation and salary inflation[/li][li]Students are aware of the disparity but still value college enough to justify the expense[/li][li]Students are aware of the disparity but collectively believe it to be a short-term trend[/li][li]Students are aware of the disparity but give it no regard, valuing college for reasons beyond the anticipated boost it will provide to their salaries[/li][/ul]

hobscrk777 I don’t think it’s a matter of whether or not they value college, but whether or not college is seen as an essential stepping stone toward entry into the job market AT ALL. Its value is that it has become a requirement even for jobs that do not practically require a degree.

From above:

But that doesn’t even respond to what I said in any way. Student perception of value is completely irrelevant to the topic.

Why is that? You said: