Urban Decay (INCL COMMENTS BY CECIL)

I’m looking for places around the city that display signs of urban decay for a photography project. Dilapated buildings, plants encroaching in the urban environment, etc. I’ve been directed to neighborhoods like Englewood but I’m not comfortable going there.

Does anyone know of neighborhoods that display signs of urban decay but that a single female can travel relatively safely?

Try anyplace with rail lines going through it - lots of stuff along those lines have been abandoned-in-place, including entire bridges.

You can pick any upscale neighborhood and travel the alleys. Chicago has great alleys. And no matter how nice the front of the houses look, the alley side is always seamy and gritty and photogenic.

Or, if you want a neighborhood that blends safety with a reasonable dosage of fashionable decay, take the slowly-gentrifying ones like Bucktown, Wicker Park, or Logan Square. I’ve been hearing for twenty years about how those 'hoods are “the next big thing.” They aren’t there yet, so they just might fit your bill.

Good luck!..TRM

I immediately thought of the intersection of 39th (Pershing) and Princeton. The remains of a large industrial building are visible but only from the ankles up! There’s a modern industrial building inside now so new shoots have sprung from the decay, I guess.

I hope this link works:
google streetview link

I like this portion, too. They went to some trouble to keep some of the window intact.
Link 2

As far as safety, it all depends. I would feel alright during the day there and it’s easyon/easy off from the Dan Ryan. Drive by and see what you think.

If you don’t mind leaving the city, go down I-57 and exit to Dixie Highway in Harvey – there’s an abandoned mall that hasn’t been used since they filmed a famous car chase scene in it in 1979. THAT, my friends, is urban decay.

Congrats, blackbluebirds, Cecil has answered: http://chicago.straightdope.com/sdc20100128.php