Fiction for International Relations majors....

I was an English undergrad, but I couldn’t tell you the last time I read a work of (intentional) fiction. I’m now an IR grad student, and I’m curious about books that would be good for someone who’s interested in themes about cultural relations/conflicts, identity, US foreign policy, etc.

One note, is that the relation to IR doesn’t have to be immediately apparent. For instance, The Invisible Man is a great book about identity, though it takes place in the US, and doesn’t really (from what I remember) focus much on the wider world.

I seem to recall having Chinua Achebe’s “Things Fall Apart” assigned in one of my IR classes in college, but that was a long time ago so I might be mistaken about which class it was.

How about Barbara Kingsolver? I’d say “cultural relations/conflicts, identity, US foreign policy, etc.” pretty much describes her work. The Poisonwood Bible is about Africa and deals with international relations themes, and her new book, The Lacuna, deals with Mexico, the U.S. and the Soviet Union.

I’ve actually read Things Fall Apart, but it was a long time ago, and I didn’t appreciate it. Perhaps I should give it another shot.

I have heard of the Poisonwood Bible, but I’ve never read either of those books. I’ll check it out.

One more thing I should mention is that I’m also particularly interested in Asia and the Middle East.

Another one I remember having assigned in my Middle Eastern Studies course was “Guests of the Sheik” by Elizabeth Warnock Fernea. Again, though, this was like 20 years ago (and written many years before that) so it’s quite likely not current enough for your needs, especially given everything that’s happened with Iraq since then. I do remember enjoying the book, though.