How does checking out eBooks from the library work?

I have noticed that many libraries offer eBooks for checking out. This would seem like a HUGE benefit of having an book reader, although it appears that the many of the eBook formats that library’s use are not supported by Amazon’s Kindle.

For those that have done it, how does checking an eBook out from a library work? Do the rights to read it have a limited life? Do you have to return it electronically? Just curious about the ins and outs and how publisher’s rights are protected.

I have no experience, so I’m just going to go with some WAG until someone with actual knowledge comes along.

You check the book out and it downloads to your device with a built in expiration date. When it’s downloaded to you the license in the library database gets flagged as in use until the expiration date.

The library will have purchased x number of licenses which will restrict the number they will be able to check out at one time.

I’m sure there will be some provision to allow you to check the book back in early releasing the license for the next patron that wants it.

Projammer pretty much nailed it. You can read the book for whatever period you check it out for – my local library network offers 7-day, 14-day and 21-day checkouts. They offer books in PDF, Mobipocket, and ePub formats; you can return PDF and ePub books early but not Mobipocket books. (They also offer audiobooks, which is what I mostly use it for, but they do have a significant number of ebooks.) After the checkout period is up, you don’t have to return the book; your license to read it simply expires and the library’s “available copies” count goes back up by one.