The stupid it burns! And, I'm looking for work

So part of my job includes partly overseeing the production of a professional association’s quarterly magazine*. It’s not Time magazine or anything, but it is newsy-information based and the readership is professional individuals on par with doctors and lawyers.

Level of difficulty: writers just out of school who think they are awesome, brilliant, and can do no wrong. In truth, we have to lie to them about their deadlines because they start the day before (heck, sometimes even the day after) it’s due and one plagiarized this year’s annual article from last year’s. But anyway…

All articles go to a professional copy editor for fact checking and proofreading. The other day, as I approached my colleague’s office, I heard yelling. One of our writers: “CHANGE IT BACK! You don’t know what your talking about, you are not qualified to make that decision. You need to take a writing course! I have a journalism degree!” and she stomped off.

What was that about? Her article had a few factual errors, and her blurb for the front cover of the magazine had a particularly egregious one, and they were corrected by the copy editor. She had just seen a proof of the magazine layout, was furious that we had corrected her work, and was insisting we change it back to what she had originally submitted.

“She wrote out ‘NYSE’ as the ‘New York Smurf Exchange’.” said my colleague.**

“Well,” said I, “we can’t leave it like that.” So we talked to our boss, who agreed with us and we deferred to the professional fact-checker, it was correct on the cover when it went to print.