Ask the girl who knows a lot about makeup

Oooh, vapid and useless thread ahoy! :slight_smile:

Over in our last makeup thread, a few posters suggest I start an “ask the” thread in regard to my makeup knowledge (I use “knowledge” pretty loosely here, 'cuz this ain’t Shakespeare or physics). So, here I am!

A little background: makeup is a hobby for me. I’ve never been to beauty school or taken any classes, but I’ve read books from the greats (Kevyn Aucoin, the Mac “Bible”, etc.), practiced a lot and learned a lot. So, while I regularly do other people’s makeup, I’m not a professional makeup artist by any means. I do have a Mac Pro card, though, which affords me 40% off of all of my Mac purchases, basically making them on the same price point as the drugstore stuff :D.

Why makeup? I don’t know. An artist friend once said I’ve got a repressed artist inside of me, but I’m not sure I buy that. I just think makeup is fun- and everyone should look at it like that; makeup doesn’t have to have a reason, it doesn’t have to be scary or intimidating, and it doesn’t have to be expensive. Makeup is just a hobby of mine- some people play video games, some people spend money at the Mac counter!

So, ask away. Whatever you want- about me and my personal makeup stuff, questions you personally have, or whatever. Like I said, I’m not a professional makeup artist, but I do makeup for many folks and can hopefully answer your questions!

Like you, make-up is my favourite kind of “applied art”.

What are your favourite make-up artist/books?

How do you find people that are willing to be “made over” by you? I’ve had all my friends and I find it is too much of a step to ask co-workers or mere aqaintances.

Kevyn Aucoin’s books, while a bit dated now, are wonderful! Here’s one and another. I totally suggest both. He does an amazing job really demonstrating the importance of contouring, as well as shows how to completely transform a person. Just amazing stuff.