How small is a pebble? how big is a boulder?

I was thinking about how we use the word ‘pebble’ to describe small rocks, and ‘boulder’ to describe very large ones. But where’s the cutoff? For me, I guess I’d describe a pebble as being a rock the size of M&Ms, but a boulder would be the size of my car.

Is there any formal definitions of these?

Well, my guess would have been that these terms are subjective, but looking up pebble or boulder in Wikipedia indicates that there’s a formal scale for such things.

I think of a pebble as fitting in your pocket, and a boulder as being deadly if it fell on top of you. But I’d go with Wikipedia.

I am a geologist and I endorse the Wentworth Scale mentioned in Wikipedia.

Technical definitions and common English usage seldom coincide for any argot. The Wentsworth scale makes any rock over a foot in diameter into a boulder. That’s not common English.

True, but in this case the OP asked for a formal definition.

Even that depends on the context. If I saw a one-foot-diameter rock, I’d probably just call it a large rock. But if I had to carry around several such large rocks for a small landscaping project, later that day I’d be complaining about all of the boulders I had to move.

Since this has been answered, I wanted to present the classic SNL skit, Tales of the Runaway Boulder. Sadly, I couldn’t find a clip… The last tale would illustrate this question nicely.

Heh :slight_smile:

My common English WAG would be that a boulder is big enough that one, maybe even two people are incapable of lifting it manually.

Now, if these things are falling down on me from up high, the size of a “boulder” would be a fair bit smaller.