Ten S-F Books for Complete Beginners...

[SIZE=“4”]Can you name ten science-fiction books for complete beginners? Please note those words, complete beginners. The criterion here is ten books that such readers can enjoy, but ones that would constitute a sufficient introduction to the genre in all its forms and stimulate continued interest in SF. Your turn![/SIZE]

Are we talking about books for adults or kids? Either way, there are several I’d recommend by Robert Heinlein (some would even be on both lists).

I’m working this with my 10 year old girl right now. It’s a challenge.

If I needed to name ten…

Have Space Suit Will Travel by Robert Heinlein
The Mote in God’s Eye by Niven and Pournelle
Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper
Earth by David Brin
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Cities in Flight by James Blish
The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester
The Caves of Steel by Isaac Asimov
The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

Well, that’s nine off the top of my head.

There are better ones, to be sure, but I limited the choices by introduction value. Nothing too difficult to read and nothing too ‘out there’ for the novice to get put off by reading.

Moving thread from IMHO to Cafe Society.

Complete beginners? The Cat in the Hat has talking animals…

I’ll add any of the “Deathworld” trilogy by Harry Harrison, the Stainless Steel Rat books by Harry, or any of the “Thieves World” series created and edited by Robert Lynn Asprin.

Lucifer’s Hammer by Niven and Pournelle for good ‘hard’ science fiction (ie - no magic/fantasy elements).

For space opera I like David Weber’s Honor Harrington series, especially the early books, which are a homage to the Hornblower books by CS Forester.

Just hard SF, or can we include fantasy?

I’d suggest the Stainless Steel Rat books for someone that age. The violence in them isn’t very…violent. Lots of fun. Interesting themes.

-Joe