Old 07-14-2010, 10:24 AM

Street Sweeping: Why So Thorough? [incl link to Cecil's SD-Chi column]

So I'm relatively new to living in Chicago, and something that has struck me is that while all other city services seem to be lacking a bit, the street cleaning is still very thorough. Although it's only halfway through the summer, my local street has already been swept three times. This is much more street sweeping than other cities I've lived in.

So is there something about Chicago streets that requires that they be swept regularly? Or is regular street sweeping just an attempt to get more fines out of inattentive car owners? (I've noticed that the signs go up at most two days before the sweeping begins.)
Advertisements  
Old 07-14-2010, 10:32 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheat View Post
This is much more street sweeping than other cities I've lived in.
Here in Boston we get street sweeping twice a month.
Old 07-14-2010, 11:17 PM

Can't really speak for Chicago, but everything that doesn't get swept of the streets can quite easily get carried by storm water into the storm sewer system, and thence into (in Chicago's case) the lake. Er, that's where Chicago gets its drinking water from, is it?
Old 07-14-2010, 11:45 PM
Gormless Wienie
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Civil Guy View Post
Can't really speak for Chicago, but everything that doesn't get swept of the streets can quite easily get carried by storm water into the storm sewer system, and thence into (in Chicago's case) the lake. Er, that's where Chicago gets its drinking water from, is it?
Chicago's sewers don't drain into the lake, except during times of unusually heavy rainfall. There's an elaborate system of tunnels and canals that eventually empties into a tributary of the Mississippi.
Old 07-15-2010, 03:55 AM
Charter Member

My street in San Francisco is swept twice a week, each side.
Old 07-15-2010, 07:41 AM
Gormless Wienie
Administrator