Need book recommendations! Light-hearted fantasy or historical fiction?

Thread title’s about the gist of it. I’m running out of ideas from my local library and I’d love to get into some new series. :slight_smile:

In sci-fi/fantasy territory: I’ve read and really enjoyed, so far, the books from Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clarke, Jasper Fforde, Christopher Moore, and David Eddings. I loved the Vorkosigan saga by Lois McMaster Bujold and I thought The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Heinlein was okay (Stranger in a Strange Land wasn’t my cup of tea). I finished A Game of Thrones but haven’t picked up the second one yet; right now I’m just getting into the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik (so good!).

As for historical fiction, I read through the entire Master and Commander series by Patrick O’Brian and really like both Pillars Of The Earth and World Without End by Ken Follett. I love anything set in medieval or renaissance England, but I’m not picky.

Any thoughts?

Try the fantasy works of Chris Bunch and Alan Cole (“The Far Kingdoms”). Or Tom Holt.

Perhaps Fantastic Historical Fiction? The Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson or Mr Norrel and Johnathon Strange by Susanna Clarke would probably qualify and are amongst my favorite books. They’re light in the sense of being fairly playful and fun (though not in the sense of being easy to carry around, The Baroque Cycle probably runs north of 5,000 pages.)

“Age of Unreason” series by J. Gregory Keyes. Its an alternate history/fantasy with Benjamin Franklin as our sexy young action hero. :slight_smile:

The first book is called Newton’s Cannon

Anything by Tamora Pierce.

OK, most of it is found on the Young Adult shelves of your local library. And so the heroines (and heros) are often teens and sometimes younger. But it’s short and fun and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.