The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 10-18-2010, 03:37 PM

Siberian Husky\Border Collie mix - puppy: What should I expect?

My SO and I are picking up our new puppy today - he's a Siberian Husky Border Collie mix, [pics to come after we get him home] and we are unsure what to expect. I know Border's very well, they are smart and love to herd everything. But I have little to no experience with the husky side. I'm pretty sure looking at his paws that he's going to be a good sized pup, but I'm not sure what else to expect.

We have a large, 2.5 acre yard that is totally fenced in - I'm hoping he won't scale the fence, but he's still a puppy so we have time to train him. He's going to have a lot of room to run and play, and with our other dog he's not going to be lonely.

I'm wondering if he will train quickly, he's got the border in him, but I don't know what the Husky side will do. Additionally, our other dog is a Beagle\Lab mix, not very smart, doesn't listen all that well...but can melt the heart of Cthulhu himself.

One concern is that the training we do with [as yet to be named puppy] will get hemmed up by the other dog who is still training at 2 years old. Should we train the new pup separately? I'm sure I'll have more questions as we get to know the little guy.
Advertisements  
Old 10-18-2010, 03:42 PM

A husky has even more endurance than a border collie. Both are bred to run and work all day; the border collie side has more explosive energy than the husky side, but the husky side never lets up.

Huskies are bright. They're not quite border collie bright, but they are bright.

At a guess, I'd say you will have a large, strong border collie, slightly less explosive and neurotic, but will keep going for longer.
Old 10-18-2010, 04:01 PM