Accounting/Finance jobs for math majors

I saw a job advertised for an accountant in Bethel, a little town out in the Alaskan bush. Most people in their right mind wouldn’t want to live there; I would love to. Ordinarily, I don’t bother applying for accounting jobs, as I figure since I don’t have an accounting degree, there will be many people applying who are much more qualified than I. Especially in these times.

The requirements for this job are a degree in Accounting, Finance, or Business Administration, and no experience necessary. I have my degree in Math, plus a year of graduate work behind me. During the course of my studies I’ve taken nine or ten statistics classes. This coupled with the fact that (I’m willing to bet) not many people will be applying, I’m thinking I may stand a chance. Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself for encouragement. :slight_smile:

I do have some experience with accounting type stuff - I ran a restaurant for over seven years, and was in management for years before that. I probably spent, on average, an hour a day doing paperwork-type stuff - making sure my numbers and records balanced, preparing bank deposits, figuring out weekly and monthly sales reports, labor figures, food cost… that kind of stuff. I figure I could probably get away with saying I have a year or two of “accounting” experience.

So here’s what I’m wondering about: what is it about accounting or finance jobs that they require their own degree? I mean, I’m thinking with a degree in Math, surely my mathematical knowledge far exceeds that required for any accounting or finance job. And isn’t math what accounting and finance are all about?

Your math degree will be pointless for an accounting job, because accounting doesn’t go (for the most) beyond the four basic operations.

How many theorems does an accountant prove in an average week?