Just how bad would it be for this 1.2 mile long drumstick to strike Earth?

Saw this on Astronomy Picture of the Day:
Comet Hartley 2 Flyby

They say it’s 2km long (1.2 mi).

How bad would that be if it hit our beautiful blue planet?

Would it wipe out a city? A state?
Would it destroy the world as we know it?

I’m no expert by any means (but I’m sure one will be along shortly) but my research found the object that killed off the dinosaurs is estimated to be about 10 km or about 6.2 miles in diameter and killed off anywhere from 50-90% of the world’s different species, so an object the size you describe probably wouldn’t end life on Earth but I’d imagine it would be a pretty shitty day for everyone.

I would have imagined that a comet would lose an awful lot of its mass before it struck the surface of the Earth.

Just eyeballing it, that’s a volume of about 1 cubic kilometer, or 1 billion cubic meters.
That’s equivalent to a sphere about 1240 meters in diameter.
Feeding a rocky asteroid of 1.2 km diameter travelling at 20 km/sec into the Solar System Collisions Calculator gives an impact energy of 102,909 megatons,
and a crater diameter of 15 kilometers.

Meteor Crater in Arizona is about 4000 feet across and 570 feet deep and it was formed by a meteor about 50 meters across.

While there are differences in composition that may affect things I suspect a comet of this size would cause substantial damage wherever it hit.

It would easily wipe any city off the map.

You can check out Purdue University’s Earth Impact Effects Program to see how bad it would be. For comparison, here are the presumed results from the Chicxulub impact.

The problem is that mass brings its kinetic energy with it even if it ends up in the atmosphere. There’s still going to be a shockwave from it.

:smack: Yes, of course. I should’ve recognized that.