The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Mundane Pointless Stuff I Must Share (MPSIMS)

Old 12-31-2010, 01:23 AM
Charter Member

Why did (do) some students refuse to participate in gym class?

I graduated high school in 1979. From middle school-upwards there was always a sector of students (usually male, but some girls too) that would refuse to participate in gym class. They wouldn't dress for it nor participate in any of the assigned activities. They usually sat in the bleachers while the rest of us ran around, played volleyball/basket ball/soft ball/with our balls, etc..

These weren't handicapped kids, or girls on their periods. These were kids that, at that time of history, we called "fries' "burn outs" "dirt balls", and even, rarely, "greasers".

Both my younger siblings and my own children (the youngest of which is now over 25) have made statements about such people. I remember a couple of guys that couldn't graduate because they did not have the physical education credits.

WTF?

These were not kids I or any of my friends would have anything to do with, so at the time we never got a straight answer as to why participating for an hour 3 days a week in gym was such a huge sacrifice for them to make.

Is this kind of thing still going on? Are YOU one of those kids that refused to dress for gym? Do you know of someone like this?

31 years after graduation I ask:

WHY?

It was an easy A or B if you participated! Even if you sucked as an athlete it was a good grade if you just took part. WTF?
Advertisements  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:25 AM

Those who can, do.

Those who can't, teach.

Those who can't teach, teach gym.
Old 12-31-2010, 01:33 AM
Charter Member