The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 01-17-2011, 11:21 AM

The best double edged razor blades

After having read some commenters (Zsofia, notably) praise old style double edged safety razor (like these: http://images.knifecenter.com/knifec...ages/cc022.jpg ) I bought one and have been quite satisfied with it.

I found ebay to be a great place to buy blades. However, I'm having problems deciding which brand of blade to buy. I've heard that Feather is pretty good but what about Dorco, Blue Bird, Gillette, Topaz and all the others? I'm looking for a blade brand that stays sharp but cuts my hair, not my skin.

If it's pertinent, I should note that I shave not just my face but also my head.

Last edited by MichaelEmouse; 01-17-2011 at 11:23 AM..
Advertisements  
Old 01-17-2011, 12:02 PM

I've been using Merkur blades for a couple of years ... haven't had to unwrap the styptic pencil yet.
Old 01-17-2011, 12:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelEmouse View Post
After having read some commenters (Zsofia, notably) praise old style double edged safety razor (like these: http://images.knifecenter.com/knifec...ages/cc022.jpg ) I bought one and have been quite satisfied with it.

I found ebay to be a great place to buy blades. However, I'm having problems deciding which brand of blade to buy. I've heard that Feather is pretty good but what about Dorco, Blue Bird, Gillette, Topaz and all the others? I'm looking for a blade brand that stays sharp but cuts my hair, not my skin.

If it's pertinent, I should note that I shave not just my face but also my head.
I use Derby blades. They sell them in 100 blades packs as well.
Old 01-17-2011, 09:11 PM

A lot of it is dependent on what you use them in- different razors have different angles, and blades don't perform the same.