The best double edged razor blades

After having read some commenters (Zsofia, notably) praise old style double edged safety razor (like these: http://images.knifecenter.com/knifecenter/conk/images/cc022.jpg ) I bought one and have been quite satisfied with it.

I found ebay to be a great place to buy blades. However, I’m having problems deciding which brand of blade to buy. I’ve heard that Feather is pretty good but what about Dorco, Blue Bird, Gillette, Topaz and all the others? I’m looking for a blade brand that stays sharp but cuts my hair, not my skin.

If it’s pertinent, I should note that I shave not just my face but also my head.

I’ve been using Merkur blades for a couple of years … haven’t had to unwrap the styptic pencil yet.

I use Derby blades. They sell them in 100 blades packs as well.

A lot of it is dependent on what you use them in- different razors have different angles, and blades don’t perform the same.

I’m a fan of Astra and Feather, followed by Derbys in my Gillette Fatboy, and a fan of the red box Personnas and Astras in my Merkur 33c, but not Derbys in that one.

I personally like the Feathers, but the Gilletes weren’t bad either.

West Coast Shaving sells a few different sample packs. I got one of those then ordered more of my favorite blade.

I use Feathers. I have pretty thick beard growth, and shave three times a week. A blade lasts three shaves comfortably.

I use Derby Extra. I have also used Merkur and they are infinity better, but too expensive for me.

I tend to buy mine on Amazon… Good prices there.

For what it’s worth, I saw a consumer program on TV the other week and they brought up the question of what razor is best. One expert (a barber) claimed that nothing beats a safety razor with double edged blades. The new-fangled double-, triple-, quadruple- and whathaveyou blade razors are nothing in comparison, according to him.