Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:49 PM
Uncle Brother Walker Uncle Brother Walker is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 13th Floor
Posts: 1,410
I'm DOOMed (need game install help)

Okay, I know I'm lame and old, but here goes:

In another thread, somebody mentioned DOOM was on sale at Steam.com over the holidays. I missed the sale, but managed to find a freeware copy on the net and installed it on my computer.

The problem is that during the install it asks for my sound card, DMA, IRQ settings and # of sound effects to mix.

I have googled all over the place for these and the only help I have found works for operating systems older than XP (I have XP) and I have read that most of these settings are used for old-school type modem settings. But I still need to find all these pieces of information to get the sound going.

The game runs fine now that I've installed it. Smooth graphics and fast action, but no sound at all. The install program doesn't have an "autodetect" mode, and the best answer I've found so far is to open my device manager and selecting "view resources by type" mode, but that doesn't help. Doom only gives me a few options to select between, and these IRQs aren't even listed on my computer.

SO: Can anybody tell me how I can find these settings for my system? I'm at a loss.


...and before you ask, yes, I have checked my speakers and everything works fine. All the other games play loud and proud, so I think it's just Doom.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by Uncle Brother Walker; 01-26-2011 at 05:50 PM. Reason: grammar errors
  #2  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:56 PM
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: "Hicksville", Ark.
Posts: 32,979
The thing is, DOOM from Steam runs in DOSBox, to insure compatibility with newer computers. It should already be set up to work properly.

But if you can't get it to work, you may want to try running a DOOM source port. You can then run the program natively in Windows. The link tells you what file you'll need.
  #3  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:01 PM
Uncle Brother Walker Uncle Brother Walker is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 13th Floor
Posts: 1,410
Thanks! Great link! I got it to work!

Man, you're good.

Now I just need to change all the settings so I can use the keyboard controls.

(it's snowing like mad over here, so we keep losing power. I can get about 5 minutes worth of work before the power goes out. It's happened four times already today since I posted last.)

Thanks again!
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2017 Sun-Times Media, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017