Is it possible to freeze your cojones off?

While I have no medical knowledge to contribute to the answer, I must note that the expression : “Cold enough to freeze/shake the balls off a brass monkey” comes from the yesteryears of powder canons.

The monkey is a brass contraption which held a pyramid of 9 balls stacked neatly. When the temperatures would drop the metal would shrink, and sometimes knock over the canon balls as the diameter of the slots shrunk.

Hence, it was cold enough to shake the balls off a brass monkey.

This proverbial phrase was probably hobson-jobsonned into common language, stating that one’s finest part of the anatomy was being gambled in that wintry excursion.

Best:

Alex

Link to the column.

snopes is of a different opinion.

Whether or not the etymology was pure invention weaved into the history of language, it still denotes this particular item.

Much like “Son of a gun” or “Fairy dust”, the latter being a story of fantasy. Semantics, a play of words, a piece of poetry.

What still denotes what particular item? ‘Brass monkey’ denotes a cannonball holder? No, it really doesn’t. Not according to the U.S. Navy, and the Oxford English Dictionary. Cannonballs were kept in shot garlands.

Unless you have a contrary cite?

Satirical pieces taken as fact aside, this is one of the stronger columns of recent years. Well done, Cecil.

I wholeheartedly agree – not to mention a great companion illustration. Ol’ Slug’s still got it!

Note what Evan Morris (the Word Detective) has to say on brass monkeys: Carats, Chum, Doozies, Going Down?, Cut and Dried and Some Very Cold Brass Monkeys. and Issue of November 16, 2006 -- Page 3

A slight tangent…