Do I really need to get my lug nuts tightened?

On my car, silly. :slight_smile:

I just changed the tire on my Corolla (put the regular tire back on, took off the full-sized spare that I had been using for a couple of months), and I cranked the lug nuts on good and tight (using my feet, since I have girly arm muscles). Do I really need to go through all the hassle of getting a tire shop to tighten them on for me? Should I tighten them again after running the car for a day or so, like the tire shops always recommend?

ETA: It was a good thing I used my stupid little jack to do the job, actually - I discovered that I lost the tire iron out of my car somewhere along the way. That would have been damned inconvenient some dark, rainy night.

I’d like to hear about this, too. I’ve been changing tires on my cars for 30 years using the old hand tightening method, and I’ve never heard of this – or lost any lug nuts.

I’m not a car expert, but I think you don’t want to have your lug nuts tighter than you can loosen by hand, in case you have to change a tire.

Yes, you really do. Not because you can’t do it yourself, but because you don’t know how.

When you say you used your feet to tighten them, that shows you don’t know how. They are very likely too tight. You could be damaging your wheels or brakes.

You’re not supposed to jam them down as hard as you can; you’re supposed to tighten them to a specific tightness specified by the factory. It’s in the owner’s manual, and you can easily use a torque wrench to do it yourself. If you don’t have a torque wrench, then you should have it done by a pro.