The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:52 AM
MichaelEmouse MichaelEmouse is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Windows 7 Home premium keeps freezing up on me

I used to have a netbook (using Windows 7 Starter) and explorer would keep freezing up on me. It always happened when Internet explorer was on. I figured a wanted a more powerful computer anyway so I got a Phenom II 3.0Ghz X4 and 8G Ram with Windows 7 premium.

Then that computer froze several times when I was using internet explorer. Sometimes all I had on were a 2-3 IE windows. So I switched to firefox. And it still freezes.

When it freezes, I turn it off and turn it on again. When that happens and it gets back to the desktop screen, if I ask it to do anything of any substance (like opening firefox/IE, a Jpeg or a Word file) it freezes up again.

I don't have a great many startup programs. I use both Microsoft windows defender and Avast. What could be causing the freezes?
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:10 AM
Harmonious Discord Harmonious Discord is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Run a memory testing software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:21 AM
Al Bundy Al Bundy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
This is tough

Since you are having the same problem with two computers and two browsers, I look to some program you have running on both that is not compatible with W7.

Run MISCONFIG and start eliminating programs that run at start up. There are also programs that you can run that look for incompatibilities. CCleaner is only mildly helpful in that regard. Glary's utilities are better.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:37 AM
MichaelEmouse MichaelEmouse is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harmonious Discord View Post
Run a memory testing software.
"No errors detected"



The software that's present on startup is:

Microsoft security client
Steam
Microsoft Windows OS
Avast antivirus
Catalyst control center
Logitech G35 headset
Java auto updater 2.0
ATI customer care
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:46 AM
China Guy China Guy is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 9,347
Upgrade to IE9

Why are you running Avast anti virus and the Microsoft security client? You really don't need two AV programs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2011, 10:09 AM
MichaelEmouse MichaelEmouse is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
China,

Paranoia.


I ran Glary's utilities and it told me my startup programs were fine. It recovered something like 4.47G in temporary files though.

I'll be trying IE9 right now, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2011, 10:19 AM
BigT BigT is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by China Guy View Post
Upgrade to IE9

Why are you running Avast anti virus and the Microsoft security client? You really don't need two AV programs.
In fact, if you were using both on both computers, that could be the problem. You are not supposed to run two different on-access antiviruses. It can cause stability issues, including freezing up.

If that is the case, IE9 probably won't help--the problem is likely the two antiviruses both interfacing with the browser. Avast beat out MSE in all the tests I've seen, so stick with Avast.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2011, 11:24 AM
FluffyBob FluffyBob is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
I built myself a nice AMD system last year and have had trouble with lock ups occasionally. Seems browser related also, most often soon after switching back from playing a game, so I suspect it has something to do with the video card transitioning back to 2d. I am using a HD5850 and it can get pretty hot (~70 C) I try to remember to run HW monitor so I can watch the GPU temperature more closely. Updated catalyst drivers seemed to reduce the problem.

Its annoying as the system is all top quality components, XP almost never froze hard on me on numerous PCs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:24 PM
Morgenstern Morgenstern is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Just a suggestion. I'm running Win 7 and Google Chrome. I've never experienced any problems. Why not try Chrome and see if anything changes for the better.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:33 PM
MichaelEmouse MichaelEmouse is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I'll try Chrome some more. I dislike the bookmarks system but having fiddled with it, it may not be so bad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.