What amazing plans did you have as a teenager that were derailed by real life?

I remember thinking that I could avoid doing any real work, and that I could find a job where everyone would let me half-ass my way through everything. Then I graduated college and went to law school.

Now I feel like an idiot.

The truth was that everyone’s tolerance for childish behavior was limited to teenagers and children. Once you become an adult, everyone suddenly expects you to act like an adult. Who knew?

I still feel a little like this guy from XKCD.

I had it in my head I was going to move to Montana and…I dunno. I never really thought ahead.

The fact that I had crappy grades in high school, no college, and a poor family so I couldn’t get money from them put a end to that dream.

Early teenagehood, I thought I’d run a computer company, but I learned am not cut out for the cut-throat nature of business. I also wanted to be a teacher, but after doing poorly in my teaching class twice and the bad parent stories all the teachers told me, and that I learned I don’t like being around kids as much when I’m “the man,” I’ve mostly decided against that, too.

I can’t think of much else, unless you count the women I dreamed I would be marrying–or even just being married by now, like my parents would have been.

I wanted to go to Dartmouth, and eventually law school. I would practice Civil Rights Law, enter politics, and become POTUS. Yeah, that worked out! :rolleyes:

Deleted

My illusions were shattered while I was still a teenager.

Lets see, first of all I was going to be rich, brilliant and live somewhere warm. I was very clear on the change of climate. I wasn’t going to marry until I was 35. I figured based on my parents marriage that I would be smart enough then to know what I wanted in a relationship. I wasn’t really clear on what I was going to study but I was going to graduate from university and then travel the world for a year before settling into real life.