Visible tattoos - Are they as damaging as they sound?

I’m on the verge of having some extensive tattoo work done on my forearm, which, as you can imagine, is a highly visible area. I figure, though, that before I make a final decision, I should at least ponder the repercussions of getting a tattoo on that part of my body. Now, I already have tattoos elsewhere - in spots that are more easily concealable - and I can’t foresee myself ever getting any tats on areas which are blatantly obvious (such as the neck, face, palms, etc.), and it isn’t as if the forearms can’t be easily covered with a long sleeve shirt.

I guess that the larger concern is whether visible tats have this purportedly devastating long-term effect on employment opportunities. I mean, I work in retail now, and farther down the road I hope to work in a creative industry, which to my knowledge doesn’t discriminate against visible tats at all.

What is your experience with visible tattoos? Do you have any yourself? What is your opinion of them? Do they really have a damaging effect on a person’s employment opportunities?

No. I’m guessing you’re a guy, so any job where tattoos would be a problem would be a job where you’d be wearing long sleeves & a suit anyways, so the arm doesn’t matter. The only places that could really have an affect are the neck, head & hands.

Of course, you’re soon going to get replies from the usual SDMB suspects saying that even *one *tattoo makes you a horrible person whom no one will ever employ, and it’s a decision you will regret for the rest of your life and OMG imagine what you’ll look like when you’re 80.

Now that that’s out of the way…

Just don’t get visible tattoos of declawed cats circumcising babies and you’ll be alright.

At least here.

As Eyebrows said, this won’t end well.