Ask the painting contractor chick.

I’ve been a painting contractor (was licensed in the early 1980s in California and have done it ever since with a couple of short breaks, currently in Michigan) since 1979. I can identify some paint brands by odor alone, and if blindfolded can tell you whether I’m painting with semi-gloss or flat paint by the way it feels going on. I enjoy what I do for a living…I love seeing visible results at the end of every day and really enjoy working with my clients. Well, almost all of them.

I’ve painted countless acres of interior walls and exterior siding and trim, stained, lacquered, varnished and oiled wood, removed thousands of square feet of wallpaper, hung and repaired tons of drywall and plaster, painted new homes and Victorians, homes that have ended up in Sunset magazine, blocks of McMansions and nice retro homes, painted countless roach-ridden apartments and freeway underpasses and commercial buildings and restaurants and stores and stained decks and painted in hospitals, nursing homes, kennels and horse properties. The highest exterior I’ve worked was a five-story building. The lowest was a deep-underground gun locker for a firearms collector.

I also do color consulting, as well as some faux painting and decorative plaster (although usually I refer faux and plaster jobs to a friend who is much better at it than me.)

Since I am in my 50s, post-menopausal so my tolerance for working outside on hot, humid days is somewhat diminished… and I have two blown discs in my back, so I chose a couple of years ago to quit doing giant exterior jobs…I have no wish any more to spend my days in the heat, hauling 40-foot ladders around, wasps, hanging off roofs and fighting with trees and prickly shrubs. I will still do smaller, low exteriors, decks, etc. Mostly nowadays I prefer to work inside nice upscale homes with air-conditioning . :slight_smile: