Is it possible to teach oneself how to swim?

Assume that at midlife one has gotten over basic fear of the water and would like to learn to swim for real. But one does not relish the prospect of looking silly, joining a beginner class alongside eight year olds. Is it possible for one to take up swimming as a self-taught exercise, practicing at one’s club at 6 am while noone’s looking?

Swallow your pride, not the water :wink:

Really, if you approach your local pool you should be able to find an adult learn-to-swim class that will fit your comfort zone and won’t put you with the 8 year olds. You will learn faster, swim safer and develop much, much better technique.

You could learn to swim on your own, but the end result will not be pretty, or efficient, and will be more tiring, and you will enjoy it less.

Si

Sounds like a good way to drown.

Instead, just sign up for private instruction at 6am. But do learn to swim because it’s an essential tool.

Benjamin Franklin taught himself how to swim, using insytructions rom a book. He even invented his own swim fins.

Another of those facts about the Founding Fathers they never old you at school.

I learned to swim with almost no instruction in the back bay behind Atlantic City. The water is salt, there are no waves and you almost can’t drown. That’s the ideal way if you want to teach yourself. Otherwise I wouldn’t advise it. But if you do, first try to tread water and then do the elementary backstroke.

I would say, based on all the stories of people being flung into the water and, voila, learning to swim, in the process, that yes, it is possible to teach yourself to swim. In fact, it would seem possible to spontaneously learn to swim, in such cases!

1. At a good pool, there should be adult-only beginners class too, because a lot of adults for whatever reasons didn’t learn swimming as children.

2. Look at the instructor before signing up. S/he should be a patient, good instructor, not a drill sergeant.