Ask the professional indexer.

I index books for a living. Usually when I tell people this they express surprise that this job is actually done by human beings. I guess people assume it’s done by some sort of computer program.

Anyway, I just finished up a couple of deadlines and I’m bored this weekend, so I thought maybe I’d do a thread on this in case anyone is curious about it.

How do you choose the categories you’ll include?

How do you make sure you don’t miss bits that should be included in the categories?

Ever read Cat’s Cradle, where one character (an older woman) is a book indexer? Can’t be too many books featuring indexers as a character- do you know of anymore?

She says that writers should never index their own books as it reveals too much personal info. In fact she reveals that one character is gay, based on how he indexed his travel guide!

People have literally written entire books on this topic. :smiley: But in a nutshell, every topic in the book that gets more than a passing mention should be covered in the index. If the author has done a good job of organization his information, it makes it easier to decide how to set up the structure of the index, i.e. which topics are going to be cross-referenced to other ones; which ones will be double-posted; which ones will only exist as subheadings of other entries, etc. If the author has not done a good job of this, it’s a bit more difficult, but you can still arrange the information into grouped categories. I’ve found that the more I do this, the faster I get.

By reading every word and paying careful attention.

I have not, but now I’m going to have to read it! (To be honest, I’m not a huge Vonnegut fan, but I’ll make an exception for this.) And no, I am unaware of indexing being featured as a profession or a plot point in other works of fiction. Which is really shocking, because it’s such a fascinating job, what with all the sitting around staring at a computer screen and drinking coffee. :smiley: