Could I teach myself to fly a helicopter in an emergency?

Through whatever contrived scenario you care to imagine I find myself stranded on a deserted island with a typical civilian sightseeing helicopter possessing a nonfunctional radio and a nonfunctional pilot. Invent whatever reasons you like for waiting for search and rescue to not be a viable option.

Would I be able to figure it out well enough to fly 50 miles back to civilization using whatever guides and materials are normally included with such a craft?

For background, I have basic knowledge of the controls and what they do from previous entertainment reading. No experience, just the general theory of what the cyclic, collective, and pedals will do when pushed and pulled.

Would I even be able to get it started if I hadn’t been paying attention at the start of the trip?

I’m thinking that I could play with the throttle, collective, and pedals to get just enough off the ground to get a feel for the lift and be able to drop it without significant damage when it starts to go into a spin. Then when I can keep it stable, get some altitude and add the cyclic to get me headed homeward.

Or am I doomed?

WAG but I think you are doomed. Going down and creating a big smoking hole. I have a number of hours in fixed wing aircraft but nothing in a copter. However I do know that a helicopter is many times more difficult to learn than fixed wing aircraft. In fact, I will go so far to say that someone with basic knowledge of fixed wing aircraft could take off and fly to a destination. The landing would be up for question, but I am positive that they could get it off the ground.

As far as a little bit of knowledge I think you would do all right in fixed wing. If you played a few hundred hours of flight sims you would know enough to do most basic things in a fixed wing aircraft. I can’t say the same about helicopters.

Short answer: No.

Cite.